10 Books I recommend from my Bookrack

A ‘book’ is the single most valuable possession a human can possess on earth. I am not the first one to say this and I won’t be the last. And that is why some of my books at home have a special place- In my custom Designed Bookrack! Call me cranky but I love to grade, batch, promote, condemn or glorify a book according to the way I feel. Inspired by the concept of Clusters, this bookrack is made of plywood and Sun Mica sheets integrated smoothly without any fixing details visible from outside. It allows me to arrange my books the way I want to, i.e. with a meaning and not just random rows of books mixed and mashed.

And it is from this rack that I intend to pull my first batch of must reads for reading Junkies. Here goes:

Quantum by Manjit kumar

You will not look at Science in the same boring Vein after you read one of my favourite books. Manjit Kumar tells the story of the historical evolution of Quantum Physics through the eyes of its proponents- The brilliant scientists, especially Einstein and Neils Bohr. Simply Fantastic!

Conqueror Series by Conn Iggulden

One of the best works of Historical Fiction. Conn Iggulden tells the epic Story of Genghis Khan and the Mongols and their road to World domination starting from their Nomadic ways on the plains of Central Asia. Absolutely Powerful read!

Elephant Graveyard by Tarquin Hall

Follow a journalist accompanying a hunter on the trail of a Rogue, purported man-eating Elephant in the dense Jungles of Assam. Tarquin Hall paints an absolutely breathtaking work of art as this racy story reaches an exciting climax. Perfect for a rainy day where your urge to connect with nature is high.

On the lighter side of law by K.G.Subramanyam

I doubt if you can purchase this book. It was part of my Grandfather’s collection which I inherited after him. Being a Judge, I can imagine how much he should have enjoyed the funny court scenes and situations portrayed in this book by the author. Written in simple language, it is a quick yet entertaining read.

Siege of Mecca by Yaroslav Trofimov

Based on the real incident of ‘The Seizure of the Grand Mosque of Mecca, 1979’, Yaroslav’s Nonfiction work relives the complex web of obscure beliefs of certain Islamic insurgents as they lay siege to the holiest place in Islam and the efforts of the Saudi Kingdom to reclaim it.

The Confession by John Grisham

I have always been a big fan of Grisham. I love the way his realistic legal thrillers makes you turn the pages without any sensationalism. The true master of storytelling takes his talent to another level in this book. I have always been a strong proponent of capital punishment but this book made me think a lot about the efficiency and eligibility of many current legal systems that condemn a person to the gallows. A must read!

Love stands alone by M.L.Thangappa

There is absolutely no comparison in this world for Tamil Sangam poetry. Anybody who’s read from it will vouch for it. But for those who cannot read classical Tamil, this book provides an English translation of some of Sangam poetry on War and love. Don’t miss it.

 Paramvir chakra by Maj.Gen. Ian Cardozo

India’s highest military Decoration has been awarded to 21 brave hearts so far. Their story of valour on the battlefield is by far the best inspiration for an Indian in their life. This book tells the story of ordinary men rising above their call of duty to save their fellow men and country, thus etching their names in history for eternity. Don’t just read this book- Remember them! They have more to teach us about life and duty than any other single source in this world.

Sea of Poppies by Amitav Ghosh

‘Brilliant’ is the only word that comes to mind! Amitav Ghosh always reminds me of Arthur Hailey when it comes to Research! Pain staking in detail and of excellent literary calibre, Sea of poppies is by far one of his best works.

 Curfewed night by Basharat Peer

The reason I recommend this book to you is not because of its literary value or hard hitting storyline (there isn’t one). I just feel that the Tragedy of Kashmir has been ignored for too long by us, Indians. Basharat Peer brings to light the sadness, brutality, hopelessness and alienation that have engulfed Kashmir. A must read for all (especially Indians) who wonder what it will take to achieve peace in the Valley. The book offers no solutions but opens Kashmir’s soul for one to reflect and react.

(P.S– Anybody interested in the bookrack can get in touch with me. The friend of mine who made me this piece will be more than happy to put one up for you as well for a very reasonable price!)

 

This entry was posted in IQ and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 10 Books I recommend from my Bookrack

  1. sai says:

    I am now active reader of Sajan’s blog…i decided to spread his word here in London. I had recently spoken to a few Sri Lankans(most of ve em who work at Tesco). They have asked fo Sajan’s. address. if somebody out there knows his complete postal address. kindly get in touch with me. thanks!!

    Ps: proud of u Sajan…jiggly biggly for life!!

  2. Sajeevs blog says:

    I haven’t read any of these. Thanks for sharing:)

  3. Vinithra says:

    Well, I suppose you have hurt Saraswati.. 😛

Leave a Reply

